Welcome at the Philharmonia Zürich!


Orchestra La Scintilla

Biber Farina Pachelbel

The first La Scintilla concert of the season, conducted by Riccardo Minasi, features 17th-century works written north and south of the Alps. The composer Carlo Farina plays a connecting role between these two worlds: his music mixes Italian and German elements in a singular way. In addition, works by H. I. F. Biber, G. B. Buonamente, Dario Castello, J. H. Schmelzer, Tarquinio Merula, J. H. Kapsberger and Biagio Marini will be performed. Also not to be missed is the famous Canon by Johann Pachelbel.

04 Oct 2023


Philharmonic Concert

Dvořák Strauss

World-class violinist Augustin Hadelich is back at the Opernhaus Zürich, playing Antonín Dvořák’s violin concerto. «It does the Dvořák concerto good if it doesn’t sound too muscular all the time», says Hadelich about this unjustly oft-neglected piece. In contrast, a young Richard Strauss was flexed all his muscles in his thickly-orchestrated tone poem Ein Heldenleben. General Music Director Gianandrea Noseda and the Philharmonia Zürich bring this fictional hero’s cinematic journey to life.

29 Oct 2023


Philharmonic Concert


Paavo Järvi, principal conductor of the Tonhalle-Orchester, conducts the Philharmonia Zürich in a concert at the Opernhaus. The event will bring the two ensembles’ joint Rachmaninoff cycle to a close. Internationally acclaimed Swiss pianist Francesco Piemontesi appears as soloist, performing Rhapsodie über ein Thema von Paganini – a set of frenzied virtuosic and catchy variations written by Lake Lucerne. Also on the program is Rachmaninoffs Symphony No. 2.

11 Nov 2023


Philharmonic Concert

Beethoven Strauss

Richard Strauss created a monumental work with Sinfonia domestica, a tone poem about a day in the life of a wealthy family. Equally monumental is Beethoven’s Piano Concerto No. 5 in E-flat Major, written at the beginning of the 19th century under the specter of Napoleon’s invasion of Vienna. Martin Helmchen, one of the most sought-after German pianists today, interprets the work together with the Philharmonia Zürich under the baton of Marc Albrecht.

17 Dec 2023